Coverart for item
The Resource Speaking in thumbs : a psychiatrist decodes your relationship texts so you don't have to, Mimi Winsberg, M.D

Speaking in thumbs : a psychiatrist decodes your relationship texts so you don't have to, Mimi Winsberg, M.D

Label
Speaking in thumbs : a psychiatrist decodes your relationship texts so you don't have to
Title
Speaking in thumbs
Title remainder
a psychiatrist decodes your relationship texts so you don't have to
Statement of responsibility
Mimi Winsberg, M.D
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Maybe You Should Talk to Someone and Modern Romance, an essential look at the love language of text, helping you decipher the personalities of online daters, the subtle signals from your romantic partner, and the red flags hiding in plain sight When it comes to modern relationships, our thumbs do the talking. We swipe right into a stranger's life, flirt inside text bubbles, spill our hearts onto the screen, use emojis to convey desire, frustration, rage. Where once we pored over love letters, now we obsess over response times, or wonder why the three-dot ellipsis came . . . and went. Nobody knows this better than Dr. Mimi Winsberg. A Harvard and Stanford-trained psychiatrist, she co-founded a behavioral health startup while serving as resident psychiatrist at Facebook. Her work frequently finds her at the intersection of Big Data and Big Dating. Like all of us, Winsberg has been handed a smart phone accompanied by the urgent plea: "What does this mean?" Unlike all of us, she knows the answer. She is a text whisperer. Speaking in Thumbs is a lively and indispensable guide to interpreting our most important medium of communication. Drawing from of-the-moment research and a treasure trove of real-life online dating chats, including her own, Winsberg helps you see past the surface and into the heart of the matter. What are the telltale signs of deception? How do we recognize pathology before it winds up at our front door? How can we draw out that important-but-sensitive piece of information--Do you want kids? Do you use drugs? Are you seeing someone else?--without sending a potential partner heading for the hills? Insightful, timely, and impossible to put down, Speaking in Thumbs is an irresistible guide to the language of love. With wit and compassion, Winsberg empowers you to find and maintain real connection by reading between the lines"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Winsberg, Mimi
Dewey number
306.7
Index
no index present
LC call number
HQ801
LC item number
.W743 2021
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Couples
  • Online dating
  • Interpersonal communication
  • Internet
Label
Speaking in thumbs : a psychiatrist decodes your relationship texts so you don't have to, Mimi Winsberg, M.D
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 265-285)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xv, 285 pages
Isbn
9780385546966
Lccn
2021006579
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
2021006579
Label
Speaking in thumbs : a psychiatrist decodes your relationship texts so you don't have to, Mimi Winsberg, M.D
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 265-285)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xv, 285 pages
Isbn
9780385546966
Lccn
2021006579
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
2021006579

Library Locations

    • Euclid BranchBorrow it
      1340 S. Euclid St., Anaheim, CA, 92802, US
      33.814447 -117.941427
    • Sunkist BranchBorrow it
      901 S. Sunkist, Anaheim, CA, 92806, US
      33.827885 -117.88054